Biography & Genealogy

America's Obituaries & Death Notices

The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. 

Ancestry - Library Edition

Search billions of records and discover your family's story. Search scope includes US Census, Vital Records, Millitary and Immigration Records.

* - Due to licensing restrictions, this database can only be used inside the library.

Biography in Context

More than 600,000 biographies of people from around the world and throughout history. Full-text articles from hundreds of magazines, daily newpapers and newswires.

Heritage Quest

Combines digital, searchable images of US federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

My Heritage

Includes US federal census (1790-1940), Census of England and Wales (1841-1901), over 100 million gravestone and historical photos. Search military records, immigration records and passenger lists, citizenship & naturalization records, wills and probate records.

Books & Literature

Bloom's Literature

Content from Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint. Includes overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticisms.

Literary Reference Center

Provides plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles/essays of literary criticism; author biographies; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; author interviews and more. For middle school students through adults.

NoveList K-8 Plus

Resource for helping students find their next great fiction or nonfiction title to read. Contains curriculum-driven material to assist with integrating reading across subject areas in the classroom. Covers fiction and nonfiction titles and series targeted to elementary and middle schoolers.

NoveList Plus

Readers' advisory product providing access to information on over 260,000 fiction and nonfiction titles and series. Includes author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists, searchable award lists and more. For librarians, teachers and readers of all ages.

Business, Finance & Law

Business Source Premier

Business research database covering marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, and economics. Also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. For college-level and adult researchers.

Company Profiles

Coverage of the automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare, and technology sectors. Profiles typically include: company overview, key facts, business description, history, key employees, major products and services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, competitors, company view, locations and subsidiaries. For college-level and adult researchers.

Legal Information Reference Center

Offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes. Contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.

Small Business Reference Center

Topics include: buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing business plans, understanding legal information, marketing and more. For adult researchers.

DIY (Do It Yourself)

AutoMate

Auto Service and repair information on more than 38,000 domestic and imported vehicles from 1974 to present from every major manufacturer. Includes step-by-step repairs with images from the original equipment manufacturers, maintenance schedules, labor estimates, technical service bulletins, specifications and diagnostic trouble codes. Millions of high-quality images can be magnified and printed. Images include component location diagrams and comprehensive wiring diagrams. Provides part numbers, diagrams, and pricing for thousands of the most commonly replaced parts.

Auto Repair Reference Center

A comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information and contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content in ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.

Small Engine Repair

Contains thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components. Routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, as well as more extensive repairs involving engine transmission disassembly are covered. Engines types include: motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more. 

Education

Education Full-Text

Coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, distance education, instructional media, multicultural/ethnic education, preschool education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. For educators and college students in the field of education.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Library

Encyclopedia articles, current magazines, recommended Web sites, an atlas, biographies, news, pop-up dictionary and thesaurus. Access to three levels: Children, Young Adults, and the Reference Center for high school students and adults.

Britannica School

Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources; also includes access to the Britannica Learning Zone for early-childhood learners in prekindergarten through 2nd grade. For Prekindergarten through 12th grades.

Credo Reference

Full text of more than 600 subject-specific encyclopedias, biographies, chronologies, and dictionaries, all from well-respected publishers. Includes the DK Eyewitness eBooks series. For middle school students through adults.

Kids InfoBits

Articles, pictures and reference information on all subjects. Full-text articles from 120+ children's magazines, reference sources and newspapers. For K-5 students, their teachers and parents.

Español

Enciclopedia Moderna

Spanish database for native speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. For high school and college.

Escolar

Spanish elementary encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish. For ages 7 - 12.

General

Discus

Discus – South Carolina’s Virtual Library is the “information place” for all South Carolinians. Discus, which stands for Digital Information for South Carolina Users, provides free access to an electronic library that’s available 24/7. Discus is a collection of subscription databases with an array of resources ranging from books and magazines to maps and videos. This collection of databases provides high-quality publications in an easy to navigate format for students and teachers alike.

Health & Medicine

Alt Health Watch

Topics include acupuncture, aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy.

Consumer Health Complete

Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Health content oriented to the information needs of patients and designed to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. For high school students through adults.

Nursing Resource Center

Collection of core content from recognized reference, textbook and journal publications in the nursing field. For nursing students at vocational/technical high schools, colleges and universities.

History & Geography

20th Century Historical Videos

Coverage of the most significant people, events, and issues responsible for shaping the years 1893-1990. Notable topics include the industrial age, the Great Depression, the women’s rights movement, the Holocaust, world leaders, the Kennedy years, the civil rights movement, technology and innovation, the space program, the Cold War, apartheid, pop culture, and more.

CultureGrams

Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures. Covers 200+ United Nations-member countries included, with reports containing history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more. For all ages.

History Reference Center

Comprehensive U.S. and world history reference resource. For middle school students through adults.

World Data Analyst

Resource for retrieving, comparing and customizing data on the world's nations. Country Snapshots feature provides statistics that include maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more. For grades 6 and up.

Magazines & Newspapers

Academic Search Premier

Articles from 4,600+ full-text publications in the fields of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology and more; includes over 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.

America's News Magazines

Searches popular news magazines such as The Atlantic, National Review, The New Yorker, Newsweek, The New Rupblic and Popular Science to name a few.

Explora for Public Libraries

Popular general-interest magazines in full text, including Bicycling, Consumer Reports, Consumer Reports Buying Guide, Good Housekeeping, History Today, Real Simple, Saturday Evening Post, Time and more. For teen through adult public library patrons.

Historic American Newspapers

Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. For all age groups.

MasterFILE Premier

Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals and articles covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. For all ages.

Newspaper Source Plus

Over 1,000 full-text newspapers ans articles including major titles such as USA Today, Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star and others. For all ages.

Sun News

The Sun News, from South Carolina, covers one of America's popular resorts. The newspaper includes sections on world and national news, as well as on local news articles, sports, and coastal living.

TOPICsearch

Current events database of popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints. For middle school students through adults.

Online Learning

BrainPOP Jr.

Animated, curricular movies, interactive quizzes, games, and activities that encourage young learners to ask questions and form their own ideas. Content organized by six broad subject areas and correlated to state and Common Core curriculum standards. For students in grades K-3.

Learning Express

The LearningExpress platform provides the most comprehensive selection of educational resources—including more than 1,000 tutorials, practice exams, and eBooks—for basic skills mastery, academic success, job preparation, and career advancement. Prepare for your WorkKeys Assesment or GED. Take practice tests for the ACT, PSAT, and SAT exams. Practice basic math and writing skills, or learn popular computer software.

StudySC

The StudySC website is loaded with South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects, and more. StudySC will also provide teachers with lesson plans and other content to support classroom activities. From artist biographies to Native American tribes and Civil War timelines, get it all at StudySC.

Universal Class

Universal Class offers hundreds of online continuing education classes facilitated by dedicated instructors sharing their knowledge on almost any imaginable topic. Some topics include: business, science, mathematics, history, home-schooling, computer training, office skills, and more!

Science & Technology

Animal Kingdom

Discover facts about animals by group, by habitat, or by name With easy-to-read articles, videos, and photos with age-appropriate reference and learning materials.

Applied Science & Technology

Content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.

Science Reference Center

Contains full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, essays, and biographies of scientists. For middle school students through adults.

Social Sciences

Opposing Viewpoints

Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy. More than 14,000 pro and con viewpoint essays. Content correlated to social studies and science curriculum standards for middle and high school.

Points of View Reference Center

Full-text database providing essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues and is designed to offer the full scope of controversial subjects. For middle school students through adults.