DISCLAIMER: The links below are being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by the Chapin Memorial Public Library or the City of Myrtle Beach of any of the products, services or opinions of the corporation or organization or individual. The Library bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content of the external site or for that of subsequent links.


 

Conumer Information
Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/myrtle-beach
Bureau of Consumer Protection https://www.consumer.ftc.gov
Charity Navigator https://www.charitynavigator.org
Consumer Product Safety Commission https://www.cpsc.gov
Edmunds Auto Guide https://www.edmunds.com
Eliminate Unwated Catalogs https://www.catalogchoice.org
Fuel Economy and MPG Ratings http://www.fueleconomy.gov
Gas Buddy http://www.gasbuddy.com
iSeeCars https://www.iseecars.com
Kelley Blue Book https://www.kbb.com
NADA http://www.nada.com
National Insurance Crime Bureau https://www.nicb.org
Product reviews, news & price comparisons https://www.cnet.com
Vehicle History https://www.vehiclehistory.com
Vehicle Safety Information https://www.safercar.gov

 

Credit Bureaus
Equifax https://www.equifax.com/personal
Experian http://www.experian.com
Free Credit Reports https://www.annualcreditreport.com/index.action
TransUnion http://www.transunion.com

 

Dictionaries / Quotations / Acronyms
Acronym Finder http://www.acronymfinder.com
Bartleby Quotations http://www.bartleby.com/quotations
Dictionary http://www.dictionary.com
Miriam Webster https://www.merriam-webster.com
Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymezone.com
Thesaurus http://www.thesaurus.com

 

Education
Affordable Colleges Online https://www.affordablecollegesonline.org
College Rankings http://colleges.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-colleges
GED Information http://hcae.horrycountyschools.net/pages/HorryCountyAdultEducation/GED_Testing
Horry County Schools http://www.horrycountyschools.net/pages/Horry_County_Schools
Kahn Academy https://www.khanacademy.org
Online Practice Tests https://www.testprepreview.com
Peterson's (College Information) https://www.petersons.com
US Department of Education https://www.ed.gov

 

Employment
S.C. Dept. of Employment and Workforce (DEW) - Benefits Portal http://dew.sc.gov
S.C. Dept. of Employment and Workforce (DEW) - Job Search Portal https://jobs.scworks.org/vosnet
USA Jobs https://www.usajobs.gov

 

Entertainment
Free Sheet Music https://www.8notes.com
Internet Movie Database http://www.imdb.com
Lottery Results http://www.lotteryusa.com
Metacritic Reviews http://www.metacritic.com
South Carolina Education Lottery http://www.sceducationlottery.com/index.aspx
Urban Legends http://urbanlegends.about.com

 

Financial Information
Bankrate http://www.bankrate.com
Consumer Price Index https://stats.bls.gov/news.release/cpi.nr0.htm
Currency Converter https://www.oanda.com/currency/converter
Salary & Wage Surveys https://www.bls.gov/ces
Stock Quotes (Back to 1985) http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com

 

Genealogy
Civil War Maps http://historicalcharts.noaa.gov/historicals/search
Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/soldiers-and-sailors-database.htm
Family Genealogy & History Internet Education http://www.academic-genealogy.com
Find A Grave https://www.findagrave.com
Grand Strand Genealogy Club https://www.scgsgc.org/
Horry County Historical Society http://www.hchsonline.org
NCHS Vital Records https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w
Roots Web http://home.rootsweb.ancestry.com
US Gen Web Project:  State by State Information http://www.usgenweb.org

 

Geography / Maps / Travel
Countries A-Z http://www.atlapedia.com/online/country_index.htm
The Fifty States http://www.50states.com
Flight Aware - Live Flight Tracking http://flightaware.com
Google Maps - World Gazetteer http://www.maplandia.com
Mapquest https://www.mapquest.com
Myrtle Beach International Airport http://www.flymyrtlebeach.com
National Map - Small Scale https://nationalmap.gov/small_scale
UT's Online Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps
Travel Distance Calculator http://www.mapcrow.info
The World Factbook https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/resources/the-world-factbook

 

Government
Citizenship and Immigration https://www.uscis.gov
Internal Revenue Service https://www.irs.gov
National Traffic & Road Closures https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/trafficinfo
Patent & Trademark Office https://www.uspto.gov
South Carolina Government Online Services http://www.sc.gov
South Carolina Legislature http://www.scstatehouse.gov
US Census Bureau https://www.census.gov
US Postal Service http://www.usps.com
US Statistical Abstract https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html
USA.gov https://www.usa.gov

 

Grants
Chronicle of Philanthropy https://www.philanthropy.com
Foundation Center http://foundationcenter.org
Government Grants https://www.grants.gov

 

Health & Medicine
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention CDC https://www.cdc.gov
LLR - Doctor License Lookup http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/medical
Mayo Clinic http://www.mayoclinic.org
MedLine Plus https://medlineplus.gov
National Health Information Center https://healthfinder.gov
RxList http://www.rxlist.com/script/main/hp.asp
South Carolina Health Resources http://www.sc.gov/HealthAndSafety/Pages/default.aspx
US Department of Health & Human Services https://www.hhs.gov
WebMD http://www.webmd.com

 

Learn a Language
BBC Languages http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages
Foreign Language Dictionary http://dictionaries.travlang.com
Foreign Service Institute Language Courses https://www.livelingua.com/fsi-language-courses.php
Google Translate https://translate.google.com
Microsoft Language Translator https://www.bing.com/translator

 

Legal Resources
Civil (non-criminal) Case Assistance http://www.sclegal.org
Free Legal Resources http://www.lawhelp.org/sc
Horry County Police Department http://police.horrycounty.org
Myrtle Beach Police Department http://police.cityofmyrtlebeach.com
SC Law Enforcement Division - SLED http://www.sled.sc.gov

 

Local
AA Meetings (Alcoholics Annonymous) Myrtle Beach Area http://area62.org/lookup.php
American Red Cross http://www.redcross.org/find-your-local-chapter?_requestid=373337
Art in the Park http://discoversouthcarolina.com/products/25769
Coast RTA http://coastrta.com/about-coast-rta
Goodwill http://www.goodwill.org
Horry County - Heroin Coalition http://www.horrycounty.org/Departments/Solicitor/HeroinCoalition.aspx
Horry County Literacy Council https://horrycountyliteracy.org
NA Meetings (Narcotics Annonymous) Myrtle Beach https://www.sober.com/meetings/na
SC Dept of Motor Vehicles http://www.scdmvonline.com
The Sun News http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com
Tide Tables - Springmaid Pier, Myrtle Beach, SC https://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/map
United Way of Horry County http://unitedwayhorry.org
United Way 211 South Carolina (Local Assistance) http://www.uwasc.org/2-1-1
Waccamaw Audubon Society http://www.waccamawaudubon.org
 
Locating People
Anywho Phone Directory http://www.anywho.com/whitepages
Area Code Directory https://www.nationalnanpa.com/number_resource_info/area_code_maps.html
Crisscross and Reverse Directory http://www.infobel.com/en/world
Spokeo http://www.spokeo.com
Switchboard - Internet Phonebook http://www.switchboard.com
Whitepages https://www.whitepages.com
ZabaSearch http://www.zabasearch.com/search_menu
Zip Code Directory https://tools.usps.com/go/ZipLookupAction_input

 

MISC Reference
Artcyclopedia http://www.artcyclopedia.com
Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com
Calendars https://www.timeanddate.com/calendar
Measurement Converter http://m.convert-me.com/en
Wolfram Alpha http://www.wolframalpha.com

 

Research
Documents of American History https://www.ourdocuments.gov
Guinness World Records http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com
Internet Public Library http://www.ipl.org
Information Please http://www.infoplease.com
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues http://www.procon.org
Shmoop - Study Guides http://www.shmoop.com

 

Search Engines
Bing http://www.bing.com
Duck-Duck-Go http://www.duckduckgo.com
Google http://www.google.com
Yahoo http://www.yahoo.com

 

Weather
National Weather Service http://www.weather.gov
The Old Farmer's Almanac http://www.almanac.com
The Weather Channel https://www.weather.com
Weather Underground https://www.wunderground.com